Vicuna

This weekend we took a trip to Vicuna. We drove about 6 hours to get there but it was totally worth it. The ride was beautiful. We drove along the coast with bright blue water on our left and mountains on our tight. It was then that I thought that Chile might be more beautiful than Kenya. The combination, of snowy mountains, breathtaking sunsets, the beautiful blue Pacific Ocean, and rocky, red, cactus-covered mountains is remarkable. When I was in Kenya, I was convinced that it was the most beautiful country in the world, but Chile may have topped it. When we got to the city of La Serena, about a half hour away from our final destination, we stopped for lunch. Lunch in Chile is always something to look forward to. First the bread and salsa is to die for and then the main course is always delicious. Dessert is to be expected as well. I ordered steak and mashed potatoes and it was so good! I had half of Ian’s steak as well and most of his fries. Then I ate 3 tres leches for dessert and was stuffed. It was one of the best meals I had had in a while.

 

We arrived in Vicuna and got out at our hostel. In the back of my mind I expected that the hostel might not have any heat but I hoped it would. My desire wasn’t realized, and we spent the night in the crisp, cold air underneath the warmth of a few blankets. When we woke up on Saturday we went on a short hike up a hill to a statue of the Virgin Mary. I was fun to climb the hill and from the top we could see the most of the Elqui Valley. The whole reason we went to Vicuna was because it is known to have one of the clearest skies in the whole world. It only rains five days every year. It rained both days that we were there. We could not have come on any worse days but even still it was a wonderful place. Life was so simple and quiet.

 

Every morning we woke up to a delicious breakfast of Avocado, bananas, fresh bread, yogurt, ham, cheese and some more fruit. We would sit in the dining room by the fire and we met a really interesting guy from France. He had lived in Hong Kong, the Phillipines, France, Algeria, Morroco, and the United States and was now in Chile. He was riding his motorcycle around South America and when he stopped in Vicuna he loved it so much that he decided to go back and make it his next home. He bought a part of the hostel and was now running it during his time in Vicuna. He got me thinking that doing a road trip through South America would be a doable trip. If I got a decent jeep or something I would only really have to worry about gas and food and we could sleep in the car or couch surf when we wanted to sleep for free. Maybe someday I’ll be able to do that.

Vicuna

Leave a Reply

